Home arrow About us

Professional Areas

dot Specification of Competency Standards (SCS)

The Hong Kong Qualifications Framework (HKQF) was launched in 2008. HKQF is a seven-level hierarchy of qualifications covering academic, vocational and continuing education sectors. The primary objective of establishing HKQF is to provide a platform to encourage and facilitate lifelong learning, with a view to enhancing the capability and competitiveness of the workforce in Hong Kong.

Industries play a pivotal role in the implementation of the Qualifications Framework (QF) and the development of Specification of Competency Standards (SCSs). The Education Bureau (EDB) assists in the formation of Industry Training Advisory Committees (ITACs) to provide a platform for employers, employees, professional bodies and other stakeholders to exchange their views on manpower development and upgrading, and to work with EDB to take forward the QF. The ITAC of the Testing, Inspection and Certification (TIC) industry was established in August 2010.

The primary task of the ITAC is to draw up the Specification of Competency Standards (SCS) for the industry. The SCS serves as a reference for vocational education and training as well as human resources development. The First Edition of the SCS of the TIC industry was published in July 2014, and there are 3 branches and 7 functions in the SCS. The branches and functions are:

Testing Branch

  • Testing Operations
  • Testing Quality Management
  • Operations Management

Inspection Branch

  • Inspection Operations
  • Inspection Quality Management
  • Operations Management

Certification Branch

  • Certification Operations
  • Certification Quality Management
  • Operations Management

Read the full version of the SCS for the TIC Industry (in English only).